8th International Conference of the Hellenic Metallurgical Society

Patra, Greece

15 Dec - 16 Dec 2022

The 8th Conference of the Hellenic Metallurgical Society (International) will take place in Patras, Greece from the 14th to the 16th of December 2022. The event is co-organized by the Hellenic Metallurgical Society (HMS) and the Laboratory of Technology and Strength of Materials of the University of Patras (LTSM).

The 8th International Conference of the Hellenic Metallurgical Society highlights the 20th anniversary of the establishment of HMS. To celebrate this milestone, this Ceremonial Conference will be organized as an international event, unlike the previous successful National Conferences of the series.

The aim of the International Ceremonial Conference of the Hellenic Metallurgical Society is to gather people from academia, engineering and industry in order to meet, discuss and present innovative international research and developments in the science and technology of all types of metallic material systems.

Conference Co-Chairmen
Professor George Lampeas (Director of LTSM)
Professor Nikos Michailidis (HMS President)

Contact Information
For further information please send an e-mail to: (Conference Secretariat)

Conference Chairmen


Professor Nikos Michailidis

HMS President

Nikolaos Michailidis is Professor and Director of the Physical Metallurgy Laboratory (PML), School of Mechanical Engineering, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (AUTH), Greece. He is also Research Professor at Texas A&M Engineering Experiment Station (TEES), President of the Hellenic Metallurgical Society (HMS), Chair of the Centre for Research & Development οn Advanced Materials-a Joint initiative between TEES and AUTH, Director of the Interdepartmental Post Graduate Studies Program: “Processes & Technology of Advanced Materials” – AUTH and Founder of PLiN Nanotechnology S.A. (AUTH’s spin-off).

He is Fellow of the International Academy for Production Engineering (CIRP), member of various Scientific Societies and Boards, Chair of the Scientific Committee of EUROMAT 2019 and past Chair of the Design & Construction Division (School of Mechanical Engineering-AUTH). His scientific interests are related to: Corrosion / Fatigue / Porous materials / Coatings / Rapid prototyping / Nanoparticles production / Smart materials. He is author of more than 130 journal papers, with over 3200 citations (h-index: 34).


Professor George Lampeas

LTSM Director

Prof. George Lampeas: Ph.D. Diploma (1995) in Stress, stability and vibration analysis of composite plates by semi-analytical method from Mechanical & Aeronautics Engineering Department, University of Patras, Greece. Currently, he is Full Professor at the Department of Mechanical Engineering & Aeronautics, University of Patras, Greece. He has been involved in more than 50 European and national aeronautic research projects since 1989. He has 30 years of experience in the technology of advanced materials and structures, as well as in advanced computational modelling for aerospace structures analysis.

He is co-author of 3 international books and of more than 80 scientific publications in international journals and conference proceedings.

Keynote Speakers

Prof Eduard Hryha

Professor Eduard Hryha

Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden

Manufacturing, properties and consolidation of metal powder: from powder metallurgy to metal additive manufacturing | Read More >

Prof Gerhard Schneider

Professor Gerhard Schneider

 Aalen University, Germany

Materials for Electromobility and Renewable Energy | Read More >